The Journey Through Transition

William Bridges, author of Transitions, developed a model that explains the process of transition. He suggests that every transition involves three phases — Endings, Neutral Zone and New Beginnings.

Divorce is a transition.

The three phases and tasks that relate to the divorce transition must be worked through.

Ending Phase.

Transition begins with an ending. The decision to separate or divorce is the beginning of the divorce transition.

Neutral Zone Phase

Grief does not go away automatically. Feelings of loss and grief continue, especially when significant events of the marriage come up such as anniversaries, birthdays, etc. The important support system shifts from helping with the grief to helping with the reconstruction.

New Beginnings Phase

This is a time of moving ahead into the future and taking charge. In this phase, people begin to act on the goals they reflected on during the Neutral Zone phase.